Monday, August 28, 2006

Bohemia After Dark on RHR #17

One for the long weekend (and a few days more)

Theme - Oscar Pettiford "Bohemia After Dark" from 'Another One' (Bethlehem/Avenue Jazz)
The Blue Nile: "A Walk Across the Rooftops" from 'A Walk Across the Rooftops' (Linn/A&M)
Art of Noise: "Moments in Love" from 'The Best of Art of Noise' (Sire/London)
Kaki King: "Yellowcake" from 'Until We Felt Red' (Velour)
(Catch Kaki King on the Yellow Umbrella Tour with Christine Baze:
Alex DeGrassi: "Clockwork" from 'Windham Hill: The First Ten Years' (Windham Hill)
Roy Zimmerman: "Punish the People" 'Laughter Is A Powerful Weapon Vol. 2' (
Bill Hicks: "I Love My Job" from 'Dangerous' (Ryko)
Sarah Silverman: "So Great" from 'Jesus Is Magic' (Interscope)
Dave Attell from Skanks for the Memories (Comedy Central)
Robert Klein: "Mysticism" from 'Mind Over Matter' (Rhino)
Peter Erskine: "Osaka Castle" from 'Transition' (Denon)
Jack DeJohnette: "Exotic Isles" 'Parallel Realities'(MCA)
Ross Traut/Steve Rodby: "People Make the World Go Round" from 'The Duo Life' (Columbia)
Lyle Mays: "August" from 'Street Dreams' (Geffen)
Michael Hedges: "Sofa No. 1" from 'Oracle' (Windham Hill)


Saturday, August 19, 2006

Bohemia After Dark on RHR #16

Humorous fare this time around.

If there be a podcast edition, ye shall find it at

Theme - Oscar Pettiford 'Bohemia After Dark' from "Another One" (Bethlehem/Avenue Jazz)
Frank Zappa: "Sofa No. 1" from 'You Can't Do That on Stage Anymore, Vol. 1' (Ryko)
Tom Lehrer: "The Masochism Tango" from 'The Remains of Tom Lehrer' (Rhino)
Mojo Nixon & Skid Roper: "Stuffin' Martha's Muffin" from 'Frenzy' (Restless/Enigma)
Ben Vaughn: "Growin a Beard" from 'Dressed in Black' (Enigma)
Rev. Billy C. Wirtz: "Will There Be a Shopping Mall When I Get to Heaven?" from 'Deep Fried and Sanctified' (Hightone)
Bob Newhart: "Retirement Party" from 'The Button Down Mind Strikes Back' (Warner Brothers)
Robert Klein: "On The Bayou-The Bayou Song" from 'New Teeth' (Legacy/Sony)
The Foreman: "Don't Pity Me" from 'Folk Heroes' (Reprise)
Bryan Bowers: "The Scotsman" from 'The Very Best of Dr. Demento' (Rhino)
The Vestibules: "Bulbous Boufant" from 'The Very Best of Dr. Demento' (Rhino)
Henry Rollins: "No One is Fax Exempt" from 'Think Tank' (DreamWorks)
Moxy Fruvous: "You Will Go to the Moon" from 'You Will Go to the Moon' (Bottom Line)

Friday, August 11, 2006

Bohemia After Dark on RHR #15

New tracks and a multimedia protest...

For the podcast edition, head to

Theme - Oscar Pettiford 'Bohemia After Dark' from "Another One" (Bethlehem/Avenue Jazz)
United Future Organization: "United Future Airlines" from 'No Sound is Too Taboo' (Talkin' Loud)
DJ Logic: "One Time" from 'Zen of Logic' (Rope-A-Dope)
Michael Franti and Spearhead: "I Know I'm Not Alone" from 'Yell Fire' (Anti)
Brand New Heavies: "I Don't Know Why I Love You" from 'Get Used to It' (Delicious Vinyl)
James Hunter: "People Gonna Talk" from 'People Gonna Talk' (Go/Rounder)
Les McCann/Eddie Harris: "Compared to What" from 'Swiss Movement' (Atlantic)
Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers: "Theme for Penny" from 'One for All' (A&M)
Charles Fambrough: "Our Father Who Art Blakey" from 'The Proper Angle' (CTI)
Ryuichi Sakamoto/Team 6: 'Rokkasho (Main Theme)' (
Mick Karn: "Chocolate" (
Michael Hedges: "Sofa No. 1" from 'Oracle' (Windham Hill)

Stop Rokkasho Podcast Feed (cut and paste into your favorite podcatcher)
Subscribe in iTunes

Thanks for stopping by...

Sunday, August 06, 2006

Bohemia After Dark on RHR #14

What works? What doesn't? What sounds interest you?
Let me know. You can forward your comments to
For the podcast edition, head over to

Theme - Oscar Pettiford 'Bohemia After Dark' from "Another One" (Bethlehem/Avenue Jazz)
David Sylvian: 'I Surrender' from "Dead Bees on a Cake" (Virgin)
James Newton Howard: 'The Party'; 'The Blue World' 'The Healing'; 'Amanda Ghost- Every Grain of Sand' from "Lady in the Water - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack" (Decca)
Claus Ogerman/Michael Brecker: 'Nightwings' from "Cityscape" (Warner Bros)
Donald Fagen: 'The Night Belongs to Mona' from "Morph the Cat" (Reprise)
Christian McBride: 'Aja' from "Sci-Fi" (Verve)
DJ Spooky: 'Thoughts Like Rain' from "Wired Magazine Presents: Music Futurists" (Rhino)
Steve Tibbetts 'Ten Years' from "Yr" (ECM)
Michael Hedges: 'Sofa No. 1' from "Oracle" (Windham Hill)

Listen (128 kbps 58:21)